History of the Nottingham Stroke Research Partnership Group

The route to meaningful research activity can only be achieved by truly understanding the actual impact caused by stroke.

In recognition of this the Nottingham Stroke Research Partnership Group was established in 2004. This group is co-chaired by stroke survivors Mr Philip Johhon and Dr Fred Higton as Lay Chairs. Professor Niki Sprigg and Dr Rebecca Fisher are joint Academic Chairs.

This group has involvement in research activities from inception of the idea through to steering group membership of successfully funded studies.

Group Chairs
Mr Philip Johnson
Stroke survivor, Lay Chair

Dr Fred Higton
Stroke survivor, Lay Chair

Fred Higton
“When you suffer a stroke it can stop you doing something that you have always been able to do. Find another way to do it, or find something different to do. Never give up!”

Professor Nikola Sprigg
Joint Academic Chair

Niki Sprigg

Professor Nikola Sprigg is Clinical Associate Professor of Stroke Medicine at the University of Nottingham, and also an Honorary Consultant Physician in Stroke Medicine for Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Dr Rebecca Fisher
Joint Academic Chair

rebecca fisher

Rebecca is Stroke Association HRH The Princess Margaret Senior Lecturer at the University of Nottingham. Rebecca's current research focuses on the implementation of evidence based stroke care.

Group Coordinator
Helen Taylor
Group Administration Coordinator

Helen Taylor

Helen provides administrative support to the Group, coordinating meetings, circulating papers and organising events. Helen is the first point of contact for the Group, handling initial enquiries from lay members and researchers.

For more information about the history of the NSRPG History of the Nottingham Stroke Research Partnership Group